Because of our commitment to cultivating new voices, local creators, and both experienced and emerging artists, CPT has initiated a series of special programs that focus on the individual artist. Fellowships include mentorship by CPT’s Executive Artistic Director and a financial award. Applications for these fellowships will be posted here when available, and will be sent out through NeOhioPal, as well as our e-newsletter. Sign up here to receive important information directly to your inbox.

Premiere Fellowships

Premiere Fellowships, made possible by dedicated funding from Cuyahoga Arts & Culture (CAC), celebrate, reward, and support artists who have demonstrated excellence in and are committed to new play development. The 2020/2021 Premiere Fellows include Ananias J Dixon, Nina Domingue, Siaara Freeman, and Toby Vera Bercovici.

Cuyahoga Arts & Culture (CAC) is one of the largest local public funders for arts and culture in the nation, helping hundreds of organizations in Cuyahoga County connect millions of people to cultural experiences each year. Since 2007, CAC has invested more than $207 million in 436 organizations both large and small, making our community a more vibrant place to live, work, and play. For more information, visit cacgrants.org.

Pictured (from left, top to bottom): Ananias J Dixon, Nina Domingue, Siaara Freeman, Tobi Vera Bercovici.

the nord family foundation playwright fellowship/Catapult

The Nord Family Foundation Playwright Fellowship is a 12-18 month program for playwrights and creators from Northeast Ohio that offers opportunities to develop work through readings, staged readings, and workshop productions. Now in its seventh year, the Nord Family Foundation Playwright Fellows program is funded by a multi-year grant from the Nord Family Foundation. This fellowship is awarded to playwrights and creators alongside participation in Catapulta CPT New Play Development programand is about striving to advance a project up to the point of being production-ready. Catapult is intended to engage with projects that are at different stages of creationfrom early concept to completed script. The 2021/2022 Nord Family Foundation Playwright Fellows are Siaara Freeman & Jeanne Madison.

Past Nord Playwrighting Fellows:

Juliette Regnier – 2013/2014 season – S Plays
Andrew Kramer – 2014/2015 season – Cut it Out
Arwen Mitchell – 2014/2015 season – (Style Is) The Answer to Everything—A (Subversive) Women’s Programme (Across the Century)
Gail Nyoka – 2015/2016 season – The Waters
Stuart Hoffman – 2015/2016 season – Canon Fodder
Greg Vovos – 2015/2016 season – Well Beings
Eric Coble – 2016/2017 season – The Family Claxon
Melissa Crum – 2016/2017 season – Everything is okay (and other helpful lies)
Caitlin Lewins – 2016/2017 season – Everything is okay (and other helpful lies)
Cassandra West – 2016/2017 season – Mira La Mer
Lisa Langford – 2018/2019 season – How Blood Go
Nina Domingue – 2019/2020 season – The Absolutely Amazing and True Adventures of Ms. Joan Southgate

The Nord Family FoundationThe Nord Family Foundation, a private family foundation located in Amherst, Ohio, endeavors to build community through support of projects that bring opportunity to the disadvantaged, strengthen the bond of families, and improve the quality of people’s lives.

the kulas theatre composer initiative

The Kulas Theatre Composer Initiative supports the artistic growth and development of composers with extraordinary potential. Fellows compose music and sound design for CPT season productions. The Kulas Theatre Composer Initiative is a nine-month fellowship that engages composers in a collaborative process under the guidance of the show producer and director to compose and produce original music for at least one full production in CPT’s professional season. The 2019/2020 Kulas Theatre Composer Fellow is Obediya Jones-Darrell.

PAST Kulas Theatre Composer FELLOWS:

Sam Fisher – 2013/2014 season
Patrick Stoops – 2013/2014 season
Sean Hussey – 2013/2014 season
Sam Fisher – 2014/2015 season
Daniel McNamara – 2015/2016 season
Matthew Ryals – 2015/2016 season
Eric M. C. Gonzalez – 2016/2017 season
Matthew Ryals – 2016/2017 season
Buck McDaniel – 2018/2019 season

The Kulas Foundation was established in 1937 with the primary purpose of supporting the musical arts in the Greater Cleveland area. Today, the Foundation continues to focus on music and also makes grants in the areas of arts and culture, community, education, and music therapy research.

National New Play Network (NNPN) Producer in Residence grant

The NNPN Producer in Residence Program supports season-long residencies at NNPN Core Member Theatres for those who wish to dedicate their careers (or the next phase of their careers) to the creation and production of new work. Selected producers are given a home within a professional theatre in which they can supplement their skills, increase their knowledge of the day-to-day operations of a company focused on new work, and be introduced as theatre-makers to a community. Click here to learn more about the NNPN Producer in Residence Program.

PAST NNPN Producers in Residence:

India Nicole Burton – 2018/2019 & 2019/2020 season

National New Play Network (NNPN) is an alliance of professional theatres that collaborate in innovative ways to develop, produce, and extend the life of new plays. Cleveland Public Theatre was selected as a core member of NNPN in 2014.

the joan yellen horvitz director fellowship

The Joan Yellen Horvitz Director Fellowship is a season-long residency that provides mentoring, formal classwork, and practical work. Fellows assistant direct, create new work, and direct at least one project in CPT’s season. This initiative intends to address Cleveland’s limited pool of directors with experience creating new theatrical work.

PAST JOan Yellen Horvitz Directing FELLOWS:

Pandora Robertson – 2011/2012 season
Renee Schilling – 2011/2012 season
Denise Astorino-Brown – 2012/2013 season
Melissa Crum – 2013/2014 season
Caitlin Lewins – 2013/2014 season
Tecia Delores Wilson – 2015/2016 season
Jaclyn Vogel – 2015/2016 season
Lauren Joy Fraley – 2018/2019 season

Joan Yellen Horvitz is an admired couture designer whose work was based in Cleveland. Joan Yellen Couture Designs can be viewed in the permanent collections of the Kent State Museum Costume collection; The Western Reserve Historical Society, The Chisolm Halle Costume Wing; and the Ursuline College Historic Costume Study Collection. Ms. Horvitz has designed costumes and sets for dance and theatre. At CPT, Ms. Horvitz’s stunning work was seen in Fefu and her FriendsBetween Life and Death, and Insomnia: the Waking of Herselves. Many local arts organizations and individual artists have benefited from Ms. Horvitz’s generosity.