STEP ’10 – Song of the Seekers – Free family theatre in city parks!

Created by the 2010 STEP Ensemble

July 29, 2010 - August 14, 2010

Times and locations vary, see below.,

60 min


Executive Artistic Director Raymond Bobgan is proud to announce Song of the Seekers, a new play developed by CPT's teen theatre, STEP (Student Theatre Enrichment Program). Inspired by a two thousand-year-old ancient Indian text, STEP's ensemble of teens reveal personal dreams, hardships and victories with their original play, "Song of the Seekers". An inventive remix of Shudraka's classic comedy, "The Little Clay Cart", this family-friendly performance explores the artist's life and the struggle to be truthful in a society addicted to products and punch lines. Packed with a cappella singing, dance, beat-boxing, rhythm and rhyme, "Song of the Seekers" is about finding true love, freedom, and artistic authenticity in a complicated world. 

The Creative Production Team Includes:

Chris Seibert - Director
Faye Hargate - Education Associate/Assistant Director
Kevin Marr - Dance Instructor
Q-Nice - Spoken Word Instructor
Adam Seeholzer Assistant Instructor
Rob Peck & Andrew Kaletta Technical Instructors
Inda Blatch-Geib - Costume Designer
Gwen Lee - Costume Associate
Lee McKinstry - Writing Intern
Tyler Slaughter - Acting Intern

Featuring Darryle Barnes, Bianca Carr, Isaiah Cancel, Christopher Dooms, Sean Eafford, Essence Flores, Tyisha George, Jasmine Harris, Kalim Hill, Marcus Howard, Malcolm Keenon, Brianna Larkins, David Lewis Jr., Christian McGinnis, Michael McNairy, Matthew McNeal, Chatiana Moore, Jocelyn Newkirt, Janette Patterson, Jawan Rustin, Diont’e Sawyer, Syeed Selmon, Dawan Taylor, Shalese Thornton, Olivia Winsteard, Nate Woodland

Song of the Seekers, a new play by CPT’s Student Theatre Enrichment Program (STEP), is the culmination of an eight week program. Working in close collaboration with CPT Teaching Artists, teenagers met for five hours per day five days per week to develop every element of the play. Using Shudraka’s writings as a starting point, CPT Teaching Artists, lead by Education Director Chris Seibert, have guided these extraordinary young people on a journey of self-discovery and awareness through the dramatic arts.

Thursday, July 29, 7PM, Herman Park
(W. 58th & Herman + Rain Location: CPT)

Friday, July 30, 7PM, Fairview Park in Ohio City
(W.38th & Franklin + Rain Location: Westside UCC)

Saturday, July 31, 7PM, Harmody Park
(Irving Ave & South Hills Dr + Rain Location: TBA)

Monday, August 2, 7PM, St. Stanislaus – Warzawa Music Festival
(3649 E. 65th + Rain Location: Church)

Tuesday, August 3, 7PM, Kerruish Park-Mayor’s Night Out Against Crime
(Lee and Tarkington + Rain Location: TBA)

Wednesday, August 4, 7:30PM, Wade Oval Wednesday
(University Circle, Wade Oval Dr + Rain Location: TBA.

Thursday, August 5, 12PM, Mercedes Cotner Park
(W. 95th & Maywood Ave + Rain Location: Denison Avenue UCC)

Thursday, August 5, 7PM, Lonnie Burten Baseball Field
(E.46th & Outhwaite Ave + Rain Location: Gymnasium)

Friday, August 6, 7PM, Lincoln Park in Tremont
(W. 14th & Starkweather Ave + Rain Location: Pilgrim Church)

Saturday, August 7, 12PM, Kenneth L. Johnson Rec Center
(E 93rd & Woodland + Rain Location: Gymnasium)

Sunday, August 8, 4PM, Cleveland Public Theatre
(W 65th & Detroit)

Special thanks to Councilpersons: Anthony Brancatelli, Joe Cimperman, Phyllis Cleveland, Terrell H. Pruitt, Kevin Conwell, Kenneth L. Johnson, Martin J. Keane, Mamie J. Mitchell, Jay Westbrook and Matt Zone.

Made possible through the generous support of: The Abington Foundation, Bellaire-Puritas Development Corporation, The Biosophical Institute, Eva L. and Joseph M. Bruening Foundation, Broadway Public Art, Buckeye Area Development Corporation, Burten, Bell, Carr Development. Inc., Charter One Foundation, City of Cleveland Department of Community Development, Cleveland Community Diversion Program, Cudell Improvement, Inc., Cuyahoga Tapestry System of Care, CSP Graphics, Deaconess Community Foundation, Detroit Shoreway Community Development Organization, The Eaton Charitable Fund, Family Connections, Kamm’s Corners Development Corporation, KeyBank, The Laura Jane Musser Fund, Martha Holden Jennings Foundation, David & Inez Myers Foundation, MyCom, Nathan L. and Regina Herman Charitable Fund, Ohio City Near West Development Corporation, Old Brooklyn Development Corporation, Omni Media, ParkWorks, Partnership for a Safer Cleveland, Pilgrim UCC, Slavic Village Development, St. Clair Superior Development Corporation, Thomas H. White Foundation, Tremont West Development Corporation, United Black Fund of Greater Cleveland Inc., University Circle Inc., West Side Ecumenical Ministry, West Side UCC, WIRE-Net and Youth Opportunities Unlimited.